Tada! Nicole’s Jake The Dog Amigurumi

One of my very first crochet projects was an amigurumi bear from the Stitch and Bitch Happy Hooker crochet book. I did not use the suggested yarn or hook and just winged it. The result was very interesting, he lives at my mums house as she liked “his weird look” or something to that effect anyway. That was possibly ten years ago. I haven’t really dabbled with amigurumi since but I found patterns for Finn and Jake on etsy and thought it was worth another shot.

img_2537

 

I am glad I did! This guy is so much fun. The pattern, which can be found on etsy here or as part of a bundle with Finn here, was fantastically written with clear photo instructions for the trickier parts. The only part I couldn’t get my head around was the tail, so I substituted a quick four stitch I-cord instead which I am happy enough with. I used Stylecraft Special DK in Mustard, although I could have used a brighter more orange yellow. I don’t mind at all though as he is close enough.

The only thing I feel lets him down is my finishing, as in the attachment of his limbs. I’m going to be perfectly honest; his legs are wonky as is his tail. I underestimated how difficult it would be to match everything up correctly and how hard it would be to attach his muzzle! However I feel this just adds to his charm. My daughter seems to like him and nothing has fallen off yet so definitely chalking this up as a win. I also included him in the Animakealong that Candace and Kemper are hosting, if I can find the right hook again I might be able to finish Finn in time for the Valentines deadline. Here’s hoping!

One thought on “Tada! Nicole’s Jake The Dog Amigurumi

Leave a Reply

