Weekly Wednesday WIP Roll Call; ep. 15

Where we hold ourselves to account for the obscene number of ongoing projects we may or may not have.

Katy

Hi! OK, first up I have a confession to make. Remember that time (last week in ep.14)  when I said I wouldn’t start anything new? Well. Those familiar with our Instagram feed will already know that I failed spectacularly on that front.

IMG_9258.JPG

I made this hat. It’s small – to fit a 2-year old – and worked in super chunky yarn, so it was completed in the space of a day. Hardly counts as a new WIP at all, surely? Check out my Ravelry project page for more details.

I blocked this hat, and Mike’s Chunky Merino Hat, using balloons, as advised by Nicole. I’m really pleased with how well it worked! Especially so on Mike’s hat; I managed to achieve that “sideways C” shape that I like. Where the brim is narrower than the body of the hat. I hope that makes sense.

IMG_9244.JPGIMG_9248.JPG

In case you were wondering, why yes; that Chunky Merino Hat is enormous. It’s a slouchy hat for an already-on-the-large-side head. It came out pretty well, I think. And he’s pleased with it too!

IMG_9302.JPG

In other WIP news, I’ve been steadily working on weaving in the ends to my Caravan Granny Blanket as and when I feel like it, which admittedly is not all that often. I don’t dislike the process of end-weaving. It’s quite therapeutic to me. But it’s just awfully daunting when there are SO MANY ENDS.

15995448_10154069924245718_774560863_n

The blanket is comprised of 35 squares; and, at the time of writing this, I have woven in the ends on a stunning total of 9… But progress is progress, right? It’ll be worth it. I still want to widen the border. I have a few ideas to snazz it up even further. Needs a good lot of colour, more pattern, and I see it with some kind of pompom edging. What do you reckon?

 

Nicole

I have a sock!

img_2525

I also have the beginnings of the second sock. The ribbing is almost finished and then I can crack on with the leg. I love this pattern. It is potentially my favourite sock pattern so far. Which is either high praise or foolish of me to say, considering this is only the fourth pair of socks I have knit!

 

The pattern suggests 18 repeats of the texture before starting the heel flap which makes for a very long leg, at least on me! I got a bit carried away when knitting the instep/foot part of the sock and had to undo at least two pattern repeats. Thanks stubby feet for making the end part of knitting a sock quick! The toe is perfect. It is beautifully rounded and much preferred compared to the toe of my Vampire Queen Stripy Socks. I think I will substitute this toe decrease method for any future socks, that’s how much I love it!

That’s pretty much all I’ve been up to this week. No progress on Jake sadly… Maybe this week will be his final one as a wip?

 

 

Leave a Reply

