Tada! Katy’s Mish-Mash Chunky Scarf

Ravelry project link here

Our story begins this time last year, when I made myself a spontaneous scarf using lots of scraps of yarn I had sitting around; including handspun, hand-dyed, merino, silk, alpaca, acrylic – you name it.

img_8529

My scarf

My friend took a real shine to it, and this year, she commissioned me to make her one just like it. She asked for acrylic yarn, for ease of care and to keep costs down. As an added bonus, the acrylic is very lightweight, despite being chunky and super-cosy.

Here it is!

img_8530

img_8512

In this all-acrylic version of the Mish-Mash (I’m officially naming it the Mish-Mash!), I have used a mix of Stylecraft Special in Chunky and DK weights; but I used my 8mm hook throughout. I enjoy the texture you get from mixing up different yarn weights – sometimes it doesn’t work and you have to add chains between stitches to make it fit; but it’s all good fun. It worked up pleasingly quickly; four evenings in total.

img_8528
My scarf (front) and its sister (back)

Alike in many ways, but each is truly unique. True to form, I did not follow a pattern for either of these; although I did use the chevron stitch pattern cited by Little Woollie in her Mixed Stitch Stripey Blanket CAL.

Here’s a list of the colours that I used, should you require them:

Midnight
Plum
Turquoise
Duck Egg
Pistachio
Cypress
Silver
Camel
Teal

img_8517

All in all, I’m really pleased with how it turned out, and hopefully the recipient will be too!I would absolutely make this again; it’d be a lovely Christmas gift. Ooh. Actually, I think this kind of pattern would look really cool in black and cream – or maybe all blues and greens… *creative brain whirring*

See you soon,
Katy

One thought on “Tada! Katy’s Mish-Mash Chunky Scarf

Leave a Reply

