Weekly Wednesday WIP Roll Call, ep. 6

Where we hold ourselves to account for the obscene number of ongoing projects we may or may not have.

Nicole

Nicole has gone on holiday! She is visiting family in Germany. I know she took projects, so we’ll hear all about them when she’s back. Here are her packing essentials:

Capture.PNG

Katy

This week I haven’t made a single bauble. Can you believe it?

It’s been SO GOOD to work on other projects, although none of them were pre-existing WIPS, so I’m no further along in my quest. (I don’t really mind!)

img_8488

img_8490

I’ve almost finished the Baby Hat for little A. I have used aspects of this Bernat pattern, but had to adjust the number of stitches because not only is it a pattern for adult sized hat, it also uses super bulky yarn, where I am using DK. I sure know how to make things difficult for myself…

I just really wanted a hat with a bit of texture, to show off the yarn. It wasn’t too tricky to adjust, thankfully. The next stage is to add earflaps with tassels, and also a pom pom up top! I’m aiming to complete it by Friday, when I will see baby A and his mama.

[EDIT: I totally finished it this afternoon. I’m SO pleased with it. Behold! Tada post is in the works.]

img_8492

Another project I embarked on – nay, completed! – this week was this Mish-Mash Chunky Scarf. I made one similar last year for myself, and a friend took a shine to it. She requested one in a similar design, with similar colours, but all acrylic. (Mine is a smorgasbord of scrap yarn, including handspun, hand-dyed, wool, silk; you name it. It’s actually way too long and heavy, but good when it’s Proper Cold out.)

So here’s a side-by-side of my scarf (left) and its sister (right)! Alike in many ways, but each is truly unique. True to form, I did not follow a pattern for either of these; although I did use the chevron stitch pattern cited by Little Woollie in her Mixed Stitch Stripey Blanket CAL.

A Tada! post will appear in due course for each of these projects. I feel quite accomplished this week! I get what Nicole means when she speaks of this “finished object high”.

Leave a Reply

