Tada! Nicole’s Garter Ear Flap Hat

I finished the Garter Ear Flap hat!

img_2146

It is absolute love. When I look at it I feel incredibly happy and smug. It is a simple hat, nothing too fancy, but boy is it delightful. It seems to be a hit with my daughter too.

 

Nicole's Garter Ear Flap Hat | kaleidoscopecity.wordpress.com

I used Malabrigo Merino Worsted in Pigeon. The colour is a perfect neutral and really highlights the texture of the garter stitch. I have long had a love affair with Malabrigo Worsted, it is incredibly soft and smooshy thanks to its single ply construction. I only used half the skein of yarn so I might try and knit matching mittens… We shall see.

The pattern itself is a joy to knit, right down to the finishing that ends in this adorable tassel. It’s such simple touch but is so effective. I love the little seam that appears where the round joins, which is a sneaky lie as there is no sewing involved at all in the construction of the hat. It is a speedy knit as well, finished within half a week, which isn’t bad considering I wasn’t monogamously working on it.

The only problem I have with the hat is I’m not sure how long it will actually last. Considering I knit the child size and my daughter is only 20 months, it already feels like I could have knit a bigger hat. I didn’t quite make gaugeΒ with my swatches, however I hadn’t blocked them and have yet to block the hat. It may grow with blocking so hopefully it won’t be outgrown before spring. I love this pattern so much I might make Aubrey and I matching ones next year. Twinning is winning right?

2 thoughts on “Tada! Nicole’s Garter Ear Flap Hat

Leave a Reply

