Weekly Wednesday WIP Roll Call Episode 2

Where we hold ourselves to account for the obscene number of ongoing projects we may or may not have.

 

Nicole

I’m not going to lie…

I’ve not really make a noticeable diference on any of my projects. I have definitely worked on them, a row or two here and there on the Cafe Au Yay Mitts, Vampire Queen Stripy Socks and my Granny Ripple Blanket. The Adventure Time Jake Amigurumi has been left behind. I’ve mostly been spending my time working on sewing stuff for the shop, which I suppose counts as a work in progress but isn’t solely yarn craft so shouldn’t fall under the WIP banner… I digress but feel free to post your opinions on that subject.

I decided last night that my lack of knit/crochet progress was unacceptable. This post, on my end at least, was going to be a bit of a sham.  I thought that I better turn a heel or two on my Two At A Time Toe Up Socks. So I did. I have worked my way through the beginnings of the gussett decreases as well so it’s starting to feel like more of a sock. I’m quite excited for them to be finished. I think I’ve only ever made one pair of socks before, and they were a gift. I’m looking forward to have a cozy brightly coloured pair of socks to keep my feet warm now the weather has taken a turn.

 

Katy


Well, I did complete a former WIP – the Offensively Bright Cushion – so that feels pretty good! I gave it to its intended recipient, who was delighted. I always get so nervous giving handmade gifts, but I think this one went down well.

 

 

I’ve also been working pretty flat out on the baubles. You might have seen on our Instagram feed that I’m working on perfecting the pattern, ready for a shiny tutorial blog post just as soon as the high street starts selling Christmas decs that I can recommend as part of the project. I’m using some that I found in B&M, but the pack came with lots of glittery baubles too, which are unsuitable (too rough and they catch on the yarn), and I don’t want you to waste your money.

I’ve had several enquiries to purchase sets of baubles ready made, which is a huge confidence boost! Playing with colour combinations is FUN. (See those traditional ones up there? They were a custom order. I am really happy with them!)

I’ll be listing some ready made baubles in our Etsy shop too: discounted prices for the prototypes! It’ll be up and running in the next week or so.

 

I need to confess that I have started a new project. I know, I know! But in my defence, it is a very exciting project and it has a deadline, so I didn’t have much choice, really, now did I? I signed up to take part in something called COLOUR POP CRAFT SWAP which is every bit as fun as it sounds! It’s run by @setfreemygypsys0ul and @quirkycrochet, and in essence it is Secret Santa for crafters of all kinds.

Part of the prep for this swap is to provide a mood board on Instagram, for our swap partners to peruse. Here’s the one I made, mostly by trawling my Pinterest boards. In hindsight it’s a little wristwarmer-heavy, but hey. The heart wants what it wants…

capture

My swap partner, who shall remain unnamed until gifts are unwrapped, made a gorgeous mood board which has really inspired me to step out of my comfort zone. I’ll still be crocheting her gift, but it’s a bit more tricky and intricate than my usual granny squares.

I’m off out now, but I’ll pop along later (or tomorrow) and share a sneak peek at said intricate trickiness…
***Update***

https://www.instagram.com/p/BK9GDXLB4zJ/
Here’s a small sneaky peek at what I have so far! In my usual style, it has been made wrongly and abandoned before this second attempt.

Leave a Reply

