Seasonal prep.

The weather here has taken a bit of a turn – it’s been raining emphatically all day – and it’s got me thinking about lovely, cosy, autumnal projects, and of course, the run up to Christmas.

I have a few ideas. A lot, actually. And (as I say every year,) THIS is the year. This year, I’m going to make a special Christmas crochet cushion that will come out every year and become a part of our family memories. Also, a crocheted tree skirt. A crochet wreath! (Actually, I’ve already done that. But ANOTHER one!) Decorations. Special Christmas blanket, obviously. And everyone will have a handmade gift. Ha.

I’ll keep you posted on what I actually achieve…

So far, in terms of seasonal craft prep, I’ve mostly been making items to sell, either in our upcoming Etsy shop or at a local craft fair. Here are a few examples of what’s ready to go:

 

img_8054

OOAK merino crochet shawl

img_7995

Polymer clay-handled crochet hooks (lots!)

img_8058

Holly brooches – cute, right?

img_8065

Some rosy floral brooches for all year round

One plan which will be coming to fruition in the next few weeks is a free pattern for crochet Christmas baubles. I made a little pile of these last year, using various patterns and pictures found on Pinterest as inspiration; but in the end I was winging it and re-designing them to suit the different sized baubles I had around. Sometimes these experiments were a success… Sometimes not so much. My plan is to write a pattern using a specific hook size, specific yarn weight, specific bauble size (and where to buy said baubles from). A foolproof pattern, basically! So keep an eye out for that.

 

img_7819

Experiments in baubling, 2015.

On that note, it’s time for the school run! Over and out.

Katy

Leave a Reply

