Beginnings Pt. 1

I suppose everyone has to start somewhere.

I’m Nicole, one half of Kaleidoscope City.

Jill of all trades, yet master of none.

 

Nicole's Two At A Time Toe Up Socks | kaleidoscopecity.wordpress.com

I learnt to knit when I was about eight, taught by my Nan one summer. I don’t really remember too much about it other than the fact I was sub-par at best, but really, how many eight year olds do you know that are skilled at anything straight away? I dipped in and out of it for a few years, notably picking up some dreadful yarn and needles in a Hobby Lobby when staying with family in Texas when I was sixteen. What they say about Texas is true, everything is bigger. By which I mean the journeys between sightseeing and visiting obscure relatives. I needed to do something.

So I knit. And knit. And knit.

A long garter stitch nothing. I fooled myself into pretending it was a scarf, but really it was just something to pass the time. I put it away and spent the next couple of years being an experimental rebel.

Then around 2004 my boyfriend, now husband, got a job in a local bookstore. I naturally gravitated towards the craft books when ever I would wait for him to finish a shift. Debbie Stoller’s Stitch and Bitch Handbook in particular called to me. ย A book, about knitting, with a punchy title like that? What’s not to love! I bought more yarn and needles and off I went.

Having moved out from home the internet became more accessible, I grew up in the dark ages of one shared family computer and dial up. I discovered Craftster.org and my eyes were opened to what I could create. I taught myself to crochet, bought a drop spindle, dyed my first fibre and the rest was history. By that I mean that I learnt the basics but would soon become distracted by another project, I’m a polygamous crafter in that respect!

Nicole's Granny Ripple Blanket | kaleidoscopecity.wordpress.com

I have several knitting projects on the go and a couple of crochet. The main one being my Attic 24 inspired Ripple Blanket, a project that’s been around since March 2014! I developed an aversion to crochet during early ย pregnancy, thanks to an incredibly long train journey from Dorset to Kent and a mistake that it took me several rows to notice. I’m a bit of a perfectionist and prefer to rip back and correct rather than compensate. Which can be quite devastating after a solid 2 hours of train crochet, but I digress!

I am a chronic procrastinator, hindered by the fact that I am a stay at home mum by weekday and part time retail worker by evening and weekend… My husband and I make a pretty rad team, tagging in and out to care for our daughter while the other works. However that leaves us with little time for ourselves in the process. He has a creative and geeky passion in creating and painting miniatures, I’m talking warhammer/various wargame/role playing miniatures. He is more prolific in his output than me though and has his very own blog. Therefore we have come to a pleasing compromise of creating either next to each other or in our separate spaces and coming together to enjoy a late night cup of tea.

Hopefully this blog will give me a chance to share and become accountable for my many projects as well as show my *fingers crossed* development into a creatively self employed life.

Leave a Reply

